Tigers leave for India tomorrow

The Bangladesh national cricket team leave for India tomorrow (Tuesday) morning to take part in the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan scheduled to be held on June 3-7.

The matches will be played at newly built Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Dehradun.

The Tigers will start their T20I campaign with a lone preparation match against the local selection on June 1.

Afghanistan are ahead of Bangladesh in T20I rankings. The Afghans are placed at No.8 with 85 points. Bangladesh are ranked tenth with 75 points. In order to make improvement in the ranks, the Tigers must need to win by 3-0. That will take them to No.9 and Afghanistan No.10.

After the T20i series the Tigers will be embarking on the tour of West Indies in late June.

Meanwhile the Caribbean speedster Courtney Walsh, who was acted as the interim coach for Bangladesh team in the Nidahas Trophy T20I held in March in Sri Lanka, will continue on with his role for the Tigers in the Afghanistan series.


Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mahmudullah (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shabbir Rahaman, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Rubel Hossain and Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi.