PM distributes National Film Awards-2016

PV Desk : Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today distributed “The National Film Awards-2016” at a gala function at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC) in the city.

The prime minister handed over the awards, the highest state recognition for contributions to the country’s film industry, to 29 artistes and performers in 26 categories in the afternoon.

Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu presided over the function while State Minister for the ministry Tarana Halim and Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the ministry AKM Rahamatullah were present as special guests.

Information Secretary Abdul Malek delivered the welcome address at the function attended by ministers, members of parliament, senior government officials and other dignitaries.

Farida Akhter, better known by her screen name Babita, and Akbar Hossain Pathan, better known by his screen name Faruq, were jointly awarded the lifetime award in the function.

“Aggyatonama” was awarded as the best film of the year and its producer Faridur Reza Shagar was mentioned as the awardee for it.

S M Kamrul Ahsan was awarded for his film “Ghran” as the best film producer in the short film category.

In the best documentary category, “Jonmoshathi” was awarded as the best film and Ekattur Media Ltd and Muktijuddho Jadughar were jointly awarded for it.