PV Desk : Newly appointed 18 judges of the High Court Division of the Supreme Court today made a courtesy call on President M Abdul Hamid at Bangabhaban here.

“It’s a courtesy call . . . the President congratulated the new judges,” President’s Press Secretary Joynal Abedin told BSS after the meeting with the judges at the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban.

Referring to the Judiciary as the last shelter house of justice-seekers, the President hoped that the appointment of new judges would expedite the activities of the country’s judiciary.

Secretaries concerned to the President were also present.

Meanwhile, Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oath at the Judges’ Lounge of the Supreme Court on May 31 a day after their appointment as the HC judges.

Earlier, the President appointed the 18 additional judges to the HC Division of Supreme Court.

The new judges are International Crimes Tribunal’s member M Abu Ahmed Jamadar, law ministry’s retired additional secretary M Mostafizur Rahman, Narsingdi district and session judge Fatema Najib, Dhaka metropolitan sessions judge M Kamrul Hossain Molla, Dhaka district and session judge SM Kuddus Zaman, Dhaka Divisional Special Judge M Atowar Rahman, Supreme Court lawyers SM Abdul Mobin, Mohammad Ali, Mohi Uddin Shamim, Md Riaz Uddin Khan, M Khairul Alam, Ahmed Sohel and KM Hafizul Alam, deputy attorneys general Khizir Hayat, Shashanka Shekhar Sarkar, SM Moniruzzaman, Sardar Mohammad Rashed Jahangir and Khondaker Diliruzzaman.