PV Desk : Voting for the general and by-elections of 11 Union Parishads in 6 upazilas of Chattogram will be held on Tuesday (October 20).

However, by-elections are not being held in the general wards of three more unions, including the chairman candidate of Mithanala union in Mirsarai upazila.
Meanwhile, the Chattogram Regional Election Office has completed preparations to send election equipment to the concerned upazilas on Sunday (October 18) ahead of the elections.

Out of the Union Parishad elections to be held on October 20, general elections will be held in 4 Union Parishads as their term has expired and by-elections will be held in the remaining 8 Unions. A total of 26 chairman candidates, 118 general members and 36 reserved members will contest in the election.

Awami League candidate MA Qasim has been elected unopposed as the chairman of Mithanala union in Mirsarai upazila. Besides, three candidates have been elected unopposed for the post of General Ward Member No. 8 of Barkal Union of Chandnaish Upazila, General Ward No. 4 of Chikdair Union of Raozan Upazila and General Ward Member No. 5 of Khiram Union of Fatikchhari Upazila.

Chattogram District Election Officer Ataur Rahman told that all our preparations have been completed ahead of the October 20 UP elections. Electoral equipment will be sent to the upazilas concerned by Sunday (October 18). From there, equipment will be sent to the constituency on Monday (October 19). Voting will be held in 63 centers in total.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has appointed 7 Judicial Magistrates in the areas related to the Union Parishad elections. The matter was informed in a letter signed by Deputy Secretary (Law) Afroza Shiuli of the Election Commission on October 15.

The appointed Judicial Magistrates will serve as first class magistrates in the constituencies from October 16 to October 22.

Among the appointed judicial magistrates, Sandwip Upazila Haramiya Union Senior Judicial Magistrate. Akbar Hossain, Fatikchhari Subabil Union Senior Judicial Magistrate. Helal Uddin and Nanupur Union Judicial Magistrate Belal Hossain, Lohagara Upazila Amirabad Union Senior Judicial Magistrate Shahidullah Kaiser, Senior Judicial Magistrate Begum Jihan Sanjida in Lohagara Sadar Union and Kaushik Ahmed Khandaker, Senior Judicial Magistrate in Adhunagar Union will be in charge.

According to Election Commission sources, Karnafuli Upazila Juldha Union 9th General Ward Member, Boalkhali Upazila Amuchia Union 6th General Ward Member, Rangunia Upazila Chandraghona Kadamtali Union 3rd General Ward Member, Sandwip Upazila Magadhara Union 8th General Ward Member, Haramia Union Chairman By-elections for the post will be held.

Besides, general elections will be held in Amirabad, Lohagara Sadar, Adhunagar Union of Lohagara Upazila and Suabil Union of Fatikchhari Upazila. By-election will be held for the post of chairman in Nanupur union of Fatikchhari upazila and for the post of member of general ward no.

Incidentally, last September 23 was the last time to submit nomination papers. Nominations were selected on 26 September and the last date for withdrawal of nominations was 3 October.

Edited By-SPT